Asking Ironman Finishers The Tough Questions

As a budding long distance triathlete I am constantly trying to find out information from other Ironman athletes with race experience.

Ironman Super Food??

Ironman Super Food??

This weeks focus topic is on athletes who have gone before me on their Ironman journey.
I have been able to obtain answers from 4 athletes and have asked them the questions I’d like to hear the answer the most.
I have tried to get responses from a mix of Ironman times and ages.
1. Meredith (Age Group 30 -34) – A 4 x Ironman Finisher and KONA 2013 Qualifier. PB: Ironman Australia 2013: 10 hr 23min
2. Julie (Age Group 50 – 54) – Melbourne Ironman Finisher and KONA 2013 Qualifier. PB: Ironman Melbourne 2013: 10hrs 41m
3. Gary (Age Group 50 – 54) – MPTC Club President and Melbourne 2013 Finisher. PB: Ironman Melbourne 2013: 13hr 19min
4. Clinton (Age Group 40 – 44) – Trispecify Head Coach and 6 x Ironman Finisher and 2 x Non Finisher. PB: 9hr 46min

The questions are as follows…

1. What do you find the hardest part of Ironman Training?
Meredith: 
Finding the balance between doing enough training to get good results, but not too much so that i get injured/overtrained. My issue is that my mind is more durable than my body.
Julie: Long hours on the bike, started 12 months ahead in all weather conditions.
Gary: Maintaining focus and Consistency of training over such a long period of time (10 months)
Clinton: The hardest part of ironman is maintaining an appropiate work/ life/ family/ training balance. Ensuring that the non ironman componants of life don’t suffer because of training!
Also remembering that this my spare time, my hobby, so it needs to be fun and enjoyable. Always create an agreement with myself that if i am really not enjoying the process or really don’t want to train, then i dont have to.

2. Finish this sentence. If I had my time again in my last race I would have…..
Meredith:
Probably drunk a little more during the ride. I think my run performance was affected by dehydration. I was passed at 28km into the run by a better runner who stole 1st place, I did not have the stamina to stay with her.
Julie: Taken in more of the atmosphere going into the finish chute.
Gary: Checked my bike for mechanical issues before racking it on race day.
Clinton: If i had my time again in my last race i would’ve kept my hat on longer

3. What Gels/Bars/Solids/Pills-Potions do you use?
Meredith: 
Gels: Hi Five -Bars: power bar cookies and cream, Pills: thermolyte metasalt tablets, Fluids: a personalised concoction by Infinite nutrition, Solids: White bread vegemite sandwich
Julie: 
Followed Hammer Nutrition Program / Shotz tabs / Endurolytes, Perpeteum, Perpeteum solids, Vegemite sandwiches
Gary: 
Power Bars / Torq Gels / Torq Powder
Clinton:
In racing I use Endura gels, Clif gels or Torq gels, normally mix between them. I dont use bars when racing as find hard to digest. I prefer powerade for electrolyte, purely on taste. I use some real food ironman racing but not in any other races. In ironman I use either a Vegemite sandwich or fruit bars to mix up day

4. Your best triathlon investment was/is?
Meredith: 
My coach, Alan Pitman. Al practices what he preaches (he’s about to go to Hawaii for the 15th time at age 65) and has trained 50+ athletes to Kona qualification.
Julie: 
My coach and mentor Michelle Blake
Gary: 
Coaching – it provided structure and helped retaining the focus eluded to earlier.
Clinton:
Best triathlon investment was regular massage. Keeping on top of body management I believe is the key to getting thru the big training blocks

5. Any parting words of wisdom?
Meredith: 
Nutrition is everything, spend the time/money to see a dietician to work out a plan to get you through training and racing.
Julie: 
Put in the hours training, don’t overtrain, stick to your plan and enjoy the experience.
Gary: 
As was said to me, ‘training is the hard part, treat the race itself as your victory lap’. Above all else, enjoy the experience.
Clinton:
Enjoy the process, remember you don’t sing a song just to get to the end

Interesting to see that all athletes (that are not coaches themselves) mentioned that coaching was their best triathlon investment.
Also, three of the four athletes mentioned the use of a vegemite sandwich as part of their nutrition intake on Ironman day. For those who aren’t native Australians, Vegemite is a yeast extract spread that Australians are brought up on. It also has a very high salt content.

Thank you to Meredith, Julie, Gary and Clinton for their time and sharing the pearls with me!

Is there any questions you would like to ask the Ironman finishers?
Happy Training!

Stephen

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment